gfxgfx

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

gfx gfx
gfx
1619 Posts in 535 Topics by 781 Members - Latest Member: chekyl43 January 27, 2023, 03:42:34 PM
gfx* Home | Help | Search | Login | Register | gfx
gfx
Absoft User Forum  |  Support  |  Macintosh  |  command line argument
gfx
gfxgfx

Author Topic: command line argument  (Read 6580 times)

ejoswaler

command line argument
« on: November 07, 2007, 01:31:10 PM »
I'm fairly new to fortran so I'm going to give more info than I probably need to.

I need to write a program that takes arguments from the command line at execution. For instance, when I run the program I might type
./a.x myfile.txt

My fortran program would read the argument myfile.txt from the command line and then create a file with that name and write some data to it.

A very simple version of my code is:

PROGRAM ci1
implicit none

character(len=20) :: filename

call getarg(1,filename)
open(unit=20,file=trim(filename),action="write")
write(20,*) "data ..."
close(20)

end program

to compile it I am typing (using the absoft compiler):
f95 ci1.f90 -o ci1.x

The output from the compiler reads:

/usr/bin/ld: Undefined symbols:
_GETARG
/tmp/RFXbDO/ci1.o reference to undefined _GETARG
collect2: ld returned 1 exit status
link failed.

In doing research I also found reference to a command called GET_COMMAND_ARGUMENT and got an error in compiling that as well.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

-Eric

Doug

Re: command line argument
« Reply #1 on: November 08, 2007, 11:20:14 AM »
Dear ejoswaler: Though I use the windows version of the Absoft fortran compiler and am not familiar with the Macintosh, I think your problem reflects the fact that Absoft Fortran is a standards compliant Fortran 95. The standard does not include a GETARG procedure. Lahey Fortran 77 and 95 does include a procedure GETCL that returns the command string as an argument but I don't think Absoft Fortran does.